Featured

Free podcast player

Limited Time Offer

 

Loading…

The New Yorker: Fiction podcast

The New Yorker: Fiction

A monthly reading and conversation with the New Yorker fiction editor Deborah Treisman.

A monthly reading and conversation with the New Yorker fiction editor Deborah Treisman.

 

#175

Donald Antrim Reads Donald Barthelme

Donald Antrim joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [The Balloon] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/1966/04/16/the-balloon) ,” by Donald Barthelme, which was published in The New Yorker in 1966. Antrim is the author of three novels and the story collection “The Emerald Light in the Air.” His memoir, “One Friday in April: A Story of Suicide and Survival,” will be published this month. “The Balloon” (c) 1966, by Donald Barthelme, performed with permission of the Wylie Agency, LLC. ... Read more

01 Oct 2021

37 MINS

37:20

01 Oct 2021


#174

Rebecca Curtis Reads Haruki Murakami

Rebecca Curtis joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [Confessions of a Shinagawa Monkey] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2020/06/08/confessions-of-a-shinagawa-monkey) ,” by Haruki Murakami, which was published in The New Yorker in 2020. Curtis is the author of the story collection “Twenty Grand: and Other Tales of Love and Money.” ... Read more

01 Sep 2021

1 HR 01 MINS

1:01:26

01 Sep 2021


#173

Ann Patchett Reads Maile Meloy

Ann Patchett joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [The Proxy Marriage] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2012/05/21/the-proxy-marriage) ,” by Maile Meloy, which was published in The New Yorker in 2012. Patchett is the author of eight novels, including “Commonwealth” and “The Dutch House,” which was a finalist for last year’s Pulitzer Prize. ... Read more

01 Aug 2021

1 HR 09 MINS

1:09:39

01 Aug 2021


#172

Susan Choi Reads Jennifer Egan

Susan Choi joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [Found Objects] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2007/12/10/found-objects) ,” by Jennifer Egan, which was published in The New Yorker in 2007. Choi is the author of five novels, including “My Education” and “Trust Exercise,” which won the National Book Award in 2019. ... Read more

01 Jul 2021

1 HR 05 MINS

1:05:05

01 Jul 2021


#171

Ben Okri Reads Franz Kafka

Ben Okri joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [The Rescue Will Begin in Its Own Time] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2020/06/29/the-rescue-will-begin-in-its-own-time) ,” four short fiction pieces by Franz Kafka, translated from the German by Michael Hofmann, which were published in The New Yorker in June of 2020. Okri is the author of two dozen books of fiction, poetry, and nonfiction, including the novels “The Famished Road,” which won the Booker Prize in 1991, and “The Freedom Artist,” which was published in 2019. ... Read more

01 Jun 2021

46 MINS

46:12

01 Jun 2021


#170

Téa Obreht Reads Thomas McGuane

Téa Obreht joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [Gallatin Canyon] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2003/01/13/gallatin-canyon) ,” by Thomas McGuane, which appeared in a 2003 issue of the magazine. Obreht is the author of two novels, “The Tiger's Wife” and “Inland.” ... Read more

01 May 2021

57 MINS

57:37

01 May 2021


#169

Weike Wang Reads Lara Vapnyar

Weike Wang joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [Katania] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2013/10/14/katania) ,” by Lara Vapnyar, which appeared in a 2013 issue of the magazine. Wang's first novel, “Chemistry,” won the PEN/Hemingway Award in 2018. ... Read more

01 Apr 2021

1 HR 00 MINS

1:00:34

01 Apr 2021


#168

Douglas Stuart Reads Kevin Barry

Douglas Stuart joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [Fjord of Killary] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2010/02/01/fjord-of-killary) ,” by Kevin Barry, which appeared in a 2010 issue of the magazine. Stuart’s first novel, “Shuggie Bain,” won the Booker Prize in 2020. ... Read more

01 Mar 2021

54 MINS

54:04

01 Mar 2021


#167

Hisham Matar Reads Colm Tóibín

Hisham Matar joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [One Minus One] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2007/05/07/one-minus-one) ,” by Colm Tóibín, which appeared in a 2007 issue of the magazine. Matar’s most recent book, the memoir “A Month in Siena,” came out last year. ... Read more

01 Feb 2021

1 HR 08 MINS

1:08:57

01 Feb 2021


#166

Chang-rae Lee Reads Steven Millhauser

Chang-rae Lee joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [Coming Soon] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2013/12/16/coming-soon) ,” by Steven Millhauser, which appeared in a 2013 issue of the magazine. Lee’s sixth novel, “My Year Abroad,” will be published in February. ... Read more

01 Jan 2021

57 MINS

57:04

01 Jan 2021


#165

Samantha Hunt Reads Yiyun Li

Samantha Hunt joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “A Sheltered Woman,” by Yiyun Li, which appeared in a 2014 issue of the magazine. Hunt’s four books of fiction include the story collection “The Dark Dark,” which was published in 2017, and “The Seas,” for which she won the National Book Foundations’s 5 Under 35 Award in 2006. ... Read more

01 Dec 2020

1 HR 04 MINS

1:04:53

01 Dec 2020


#164

Elizabeth Strout Reads William Trevor

Elizabeth Strout joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “Bravado,” by William Trevor, which appeared in a 2007 issue of the magazine. Strout’s most recent book, “Olive Again,” an Oprah’s book-club pick, was published in 2019.  ... Read more

01 Nov 2020

47 MINS

47:46

01 Nov 2020


#163

ZZ Packer Reads Lesley Nneka Arimah

[ZZ Packer] (https://www.newyorker.com/contributors/zz-packer)  joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [Who Will Greet You At Home] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2015/10/26/who-will-greet-you-at-home) ,” by Lesley Nneka Arimah, which appeared in a 2015 issue of the magazine. Packer’s story collection, “Drinking Coffee Elsewhere,” was published in 2003. ... Read more

01 Oct 2020

1 HR 05 MINS

1:05:52

01 Oct 2020


#162

David Gilbert Reads Samantha Hunt

[David Gilbert] (https://www.newyorker.com/contributors/david-gilbert)  joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [Three Days] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2006/01/16/three-days) ,” by Samantha Hunt, which appeared in a 2006 issue of the magazine. Gilbert is the author of two novels, “& Sons” and “The Normals.” ... Read more

01 Sep 2020

1 HR 06 MINS

1:06:04

01 Sep 2020


#161

Tommy Orange Reads Louise Erdrich

[Tommy Orange] (https://www.newyorker.com/contributors/tommy-orange)  joins Deborah Treisman to read and discuss “ [The Years of My Birth] (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2011/01/10/the-years-of-my-birth) ,” by Louise Erdrich, which appeared in a 2011 issue of the magazine. Orange’s first novel, “There There,” was published in 2018 and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. ... Read more

01 Aug 2020

51 MINS

51:28

01 Aug 2020